top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamanthaRichardson

FMP Start Up Part 3: Prepping Characters

Updated: May 22, 2020

When thinking up character ideas of what I wanted to work with I tried to make sure that I built up a range of basic profiles so that I could see what my options were and to see what selection would be interesting for people to read about. When I first started the project I had already gained a few character ideas based on the games I joined and the game Idea I was writing up at the time, from this I feel like I could further expand on one of these and change the design to best fit something else.


From previous ideas I created the characters based on models from Hero Forge and adapted the designs to how I wanted it, with this character I have shown I used a knight based design that was close to how I wanted the character to look and using Photoshop I sketched around it to adapt the character to look more like a living Warforged. If I was to choose one of the characters, I have previously made I will be looking to change the character so that it is better proportioned and better fit my art style.


With these characters the one site I use commonly is D&D Beyond where I can make my own character sheets fit with information based on their content or I could customise my own, as this is a quick and easy feature to use I will be using this to gather up as many character ideas I can so that I have a range to choose from and as show in the image under character slots I have made: 43 characters during this time with some additional ones with adapted features.

To show how far the website can go and what features it has I have provided some images of the content it shares. As you can see everything is laid out in the character builder and once you are done it gathers everything onto once character sheet under the appropriate features so that you can find all the content easily. For my project I may even look into developing the character sheets my own way to make it more personal to me and the character.

bottom of page