top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamanthaRichardson

FMP Start Up Part 6: Influences and Moodboards

Updated: Jun 1, 2020

As a Character artist it is important to first understand the project you are working with so that you know the type of character you are going to be working with and once that is fully understood it is vital that there is always a source of images that can be worked from. For myself I have a wide collection of images that I keep together within folders on my computer but, its not always enough or easy to keep them all in one place.

One of the best sites I like to use is Pinterest as it helps me to organise my images into boards and the suggest to me similar ones based on the pictures I have added over time. Here is one of my favourite boards I have put together with over 700 Pins of images to help me with my character development some, have tips on software, textures examples and anatomy of ether a humanoid or animal, depending on what you’re looking for.

For my fantasy character I will be looking into both character images and clothing ideas that relate to that genre as it will help me to look at what features and out fit would go best and hopefully sparking an idea for the perfect character. From what I can see based on the collection I’m following the same path as my previous designs of a fairly medieval period-based character.

For the horror character I have looked into more creature-based designs and from this I feel like cursed objects and twisted beings from mythology and urban legends is the path I feel drawn too looking at these.

For the science fiction character, I’m going to be working on I will be teaming up with Daniel Spink who is another game designer from another course, with him I have set up a collaborative board so that we can both add and share ideas on what we are going to make. From what has been discussed a sci-fi female miner is the base idea of what we are going to work with.


As an addition I have a Dungeons and Dragons board that I have used for a while that has all sorts of item and weapon ideas that I could use as inspiration to develop props and special clothing ideas for my fantasy and even science fiction character.


These boards I will continue to use throughout the development and will be choosing a selected sew images from it that I think best suit my final idea, to create a smaller moodboard to focus on.

bottom of page