top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamanthaRichardson

FMP Start Up Part 1: Planning My Project

Updated: May 22, 2020

For my final year in university of Computer Games Design, I have been working towards planning what it is I will be doing for my final major project. The main focus is to be able to work on a project that is personal to us to show what it is we want to do in the future within the gaming industry. Throughout the summer I have been taking my time to go through work I have done personally during my spare time and during my Game Design Course, from this I wanted to see where my inspiration will take me and to help me decide what it is I truly want to do.


During this time, I had found myself mainly working on concept work for characters, props and maps as well as writing up a wide range of characters sheets fit for games with full backstories to give them life and a purpose. Below I will show what I have created during this time.


From my development I have been working closely with fantasy based characters fit for a table top game called Dungeons and Dragon, with this game you play with a group of friends to go on a range of adventures that is run by a person called the Dungeon Master who writes the main base of the game. From this we as players, create our own characters to live within that world and we use them by roll playing what it is they will do within the situations the dungeon master creates.


From the images shown I have been working on a range of different designs as I have been using them in different games that I have participated in during the summer weather it is a one shot or a full campaign. To create these characters, I had used Hero Forge as my reference to design the character as it allows you to customise a model and position them how you want and from this, these were the results of what I done with them. From the drawings they have a cartoon based look and I feel this is the base of what I want to work on and each design took an estimate of 5 hours to do depending on how much detail was put into the character.

Alongside the characters I have created I wasn’t limited to just creating a character, thanks to a site called D&D Beyond I was able to Homebrew some items for my characters to use withing the game. As an addition to this I had also created a map that was used for one of my characters hide outs and a symbol that they use to identify each other.


From my creation I found that this was very enjoyable and I felt happy that others enjoyed my designs I had created for their game, some had even asked to keep them for future uses. As I had created a lot of features already, I had even decided to used what I made and are currently developing more to fit into a game that I have decided to set up myself. Based on this I have decided that creating characters and props concept work is what I would really love to do in the future as a game designer, so that is what I will be focusing on for my final major project.

bottom of page