top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamanthaRichardson

FMP Start Up Part 4: Presenting my Idea

Updated: May 22, 2020

Its my first month back at university and I was briefed by my tutor on what we plan to do for our FMP from this I discussed further possibilities of what I could do with the project and the following was mentioned:

· Possibly collaborate with someone on the project by working on an idea.

· Think about themes to expand on.

· Possible ways to make the modle

· Different ways to layout the pipeline

Once I had created the first PowerPoint created, I was ready to present it to an audience to gain feedback on my idea, ready for the final draft. Below I have added my presentation with a rough description of what I spoke about.


My Presentation


Slide 1:

Note/ I introduced myself to the audience

Slide 2:

My plan is to be able to produce a range of character concept ideas and produce a few final images based on the feedback I was given and then create 3D models that will be textured and rigged ready to be used withing a game or animation. As an addition to this I will be creating an extensive character profile complete with a backstory to give them life.


The theme of my work will play heavily on Fantasy as its one of my most favourite themes within video games so I will be looking to creating characters that can be placed withing roll play games. My inspirations for my work are Fallout 4, Dungeons & Dragons and Skyrim as they are what I enjoy playing the most and their worlds stories have sparked lots of ideas for what I could create. As my art style and characters play heavily within fantasy characters, they use medieval and science fiction like designs I feel like my work is best aimed towards Bethesda and Ubisoft.


Slide 3:

As I’m focusing towards creating concept work and characters, I will be using the art of fallout 4 as one of my inspiration driving forces as it helps me get an idea of how to develop my work. from this I will be creating a verity of different looks for the character so that when I show it to a director they can pick and choose what look what would like to use in their game. I would also like to create characters that aren't humanoid and even create a verity of props that can be used alongside the character.


Slide 4:

Note/ for this part I addressed the audience as a lot of people who were there have seen these character in action and know who they were.


Here are a few examples of what I have created recently. As a few of you would recognise from a dungeons & dragons game we have been in together the far-left character is Richard, a very intelligent person who has vast amounts of knowledge at his fingertips but is very cowardly when it comes to facing a wild beast face to face. Some of these you have seen me develop over time and here they are completed with details and props they will use when they are in action.


Alice in the middle used to be a glorious celestial Aasimar complete with golden wings and helped anyone who needed it, after being captured and used for materials in alchemy she is now looking out for revenge on those who hurt her. Trix on the end is a robotic structure built for war and used to protect the royal family, for this character I used a lot of bright colours to symbolise electronic components giving it a science fiction vibe.


Slide 5

The character on the left is Diran who you all know very well, a prince who ran away form a strict family who wanted him to become king but decided against it to find himself as a person and to discover his own purpose, this is currently a 4 version of what he looks like after making changed during his progression through the game.


On the right is Havren who plays an important toll in one of my games I have created, with this character he is the god of life and death so he has an angelic look but also had a mysterious presence about him as he can not only give life but take it too.


Slide 6

As part of one of my games I have been in I had created a guild hall in which a group of people both live and hide in.


Slide 7

Here are some assets I have made for the characters I have created.

Note/ I listed of the items


Slide 8

Note/ I listed of the items prior to previous slide

Slide 9

Q and A with feedback


When I had finished my slides, I had asked the audience if they had any questions and feedback on what I had shown. Below this is what they said with thought of what I plan to do.


Feedback: You could use different genres for your characters and instead of doing a lot maybe focus on three if your planning on texturing and rigging.

My Thoughts: I will focus using Science fiction, horror and fantasy for my project as they are very common meaning my audience can be reached.


Feedback: Try and see if you can build a character differently to show verity in what you can do, get someone else to create a character sheet and design one from that.

My thoughts: I will contact a few people from other games coerces I know very well who love creating character sheets and see if they would team up with me to build a character.


Feedback: you spoke a lot about your characters try and refine your presentation to make it clear on what it is your doing and why you are doing it.

My thoughts: I will look into a better structure to present my work and get a clearer idea on what I’m doing so that I can be more confident in my work and know my path.


Feedback: adjust your presentation so that it looks more appealing to the audience and look into practising what you’re going to say so that you are clear on what you’re going to say.

My thoughts: I will be looking to improve the layout so that it looks a lot cleaner, I will then look to present it Infront of a few friends to help me gain some confidence as well as a few notes to help me plan what I want to talk about.

bottom of page