top of page
  • Writer's pictureSamanthaRichardson

FMP Start Up Part 7: Prince Diran Character Idea

Updated: Jun 3, 2020


For the creation of my fantasy character i have decided that i will be working on a pre-existing character that i had been working on over the summer. during the period i have been working on a drawing and rough ideas on what i wanted him to be, the main ideas is to create a run away prince that wants to go on a grand adventure before he is made king of an empire, forcing him to stay in one area for the majority of his life.


Here i will be writing his back story as though he was writing into a book, with this it gives the reader a personal insight into who he is, how he feels and what his personality is like.


Backstory


DISCLAMER: warning, may contain use of profanity that may be unsuitable for a young audience.

For the back story I will be writing as if the character wrote into a journal as It make it feel more personal to see how the character feels during each stage of his life. I will be making sure to not start from an age of 4 but I will start from a place that matters the most to show how he went from one stage to where the character will start of in the world.


Entry 1

My friend Julia down in the kitchen brought me this book today, said it was her husbands and told me that I should always keep it with me if I’m planning on practicing magic or go traveling in the future as it may come in handy.

I mean to be fair even though it looks very old it does work a treat to stop people looking at what I’m writing, I’ll just have to make sure I hide it in my room where my family can’t find it, I hate them all so much. I told my parents I wanted to practice magic after hearing stories of Julia’s husband when I visited her in the kitchen. After that my parents were furious and yelled at me, telling me I’m not to set foot in the kitchen again because the “crazy woman has no idea what she is talking about”. Screw them, they don’t have power over what I do. They forget people need to use the bathroom every now and then, the guard they sent to watch over me all ways uses the bathroom at 12:15pm every day, after learning some new tricks I just slip something in his drink and he’s gone for an hour, Poor bastard.

Entry 2

My parents forbid me to go in the left tower as they say it will “corrupt me” but I ainʼt dumb, I’ve scene the family wizard walk in and out of there with the royal scribes. Luckily for me Julia has worked in this place for years and knows every hiding hole, tunnel and hatch. She told me if I go to the laundry room there is a chute that leads into his room and if I can climb up it I can sneak in and look at his stuff with ease.

It is the best thing I have ever seen, the room stretched out for miles filled with books, potions and staffs of all kinds, it was a magic users dream, unusually big compared to the size of the actual tower itself. He is always in there though, I can never just run in and take something because he will tell my parents and they will be pissed, banishing me to my room until I can recite the book of royals, its literally touring me.

Luckily inside the laundry chute I can hear the wizard clear as day, so I’ve be writing all that I can in this book to practice magic spells in secret, although Thunderclap has proven to be tough. I ended up defending myself the other day with it, it wasn’t fun although it did get me out of violin practice.

Entry 3

I did it, I can believe I actually did it. Today I saw the wizard brake his favourite staff today, for some reason he come back really angry at one of the staff members and I saw him throw his staff in anger. He fixed it without any noticeable damages or marks left behind using the mending spell.

For weeks I sat in the kitchen with Julia trying to fix one of their best cooking pots that had a large hole in it. I consented harder than ever and fixed it! after that day the kitchen staff kept bringing me items to fix that were personal to them or they broke by accident in the kitchen, I’ve never felt so happy to be doing something useful.

Julia brought me an item she wanted fixing, it looked like a small stone table, it didn’t look special, she told me that it meant a lot to her and no one would attempt to fix it. Proudly I held the two pieces of stone together and mended it into one piece.

I have never seen anything so heart reaching in all my life, when I fixed the tablet it started to glow creating a moving image of two people looking very happy in fancy clothes inside a church. Julia told me it was her wedding day and it’s the only thing she has left to remember him by. She said if I close my eyes I will be able to feel the image.

I couldn’t believe it, this magic is far beyond anything I have ever seen, I felt it, I really did. I felt warm and happy, I smelt the scent of rose petals as the two walked down the church together. It was odd, I opened my eyes and all I could do was cry. I had to rethink my life after that, being stuck in this shitty castle where everything is done for you made me realise what I was missing in my life.

Entry 4

I was almost sick to my stomach today, I thought I was done for. My stupid arse brother Volaris was rummaging through my stuff again, god I hate him. He keeps saying I’m hiding something, he’s not wrong really but it doesn’t give him the right to go through my shit like that, he made a bloody mess of it too.

I don’t understand it, my brothers and three sisters keep trying to ruin my life all because I’m next in line for the throne, they can fucking have it, I generally don’t give a shit, I don’t want to spend the rest of my life with someone wiping my arse for me.

I’m getting off track, so basically me and Volaris were arguing and he finds this book, luckily it burned his hand when he picked it up but oh my god I thought I was done for, he tried to rush off to tell my parents but when I put out my hand he stopped in his place, I shouted get back here and he walked over like a mindless animal.

I waved my hand in front of him and all he did was giggle, I told him not to tell mum and dad, he just giggled again and said, “ok bro, I love you, I wouldn’t want to do anything to hurt you” and he just walked off like nothing happened.

I’m literally in shock, I can’t believe it happened. I spoke to Julia and she told me I used the charm person spell. I didn’t even know it, but I feel like it was in my blood, I wonder what else I could do.

Entry 5

Literally the best day of my life, my fourth youngest sister Ember is literally the sweetest person I know, so gentle and so free in life. I mean, I’m not horrible to her but I can’t help messing with her.

She was playing in the court yard today with two of the wizard’s tinny dragon Akatosh and Panthrax, running around throwing apple in the air for them to catch. I hid behind one of the pillars and casted the message spell, I put on a deeper voice than usual, so she didn’t recognise it and started to mess with her head thinking that she has an imaginary friend.

I tried to mess with her for a while getting her to hide things around the castle and taking the guards keys having a right laugh, oddly though she got really serious all of a sudden and wanted to talk with this voice privately in her room. I made sure to stay out of sight the whole time, so she doesn’t suspect me.

I was shocked during our talk, she seemed sad in her speech and she strongly asked me to promise her not to tell anyone, I doubt an imaginary friend could even do such a thing anyway. She told me she feared the castle and said she was especially scared of Avis, Anae, Volaris, Purity and Neptulus. She told me that they keep arguing with each other and wanted to hurt me badly, no surprise to me but I felt so broke that she was crying over my safety and that she wished to grow up big and strong, so she could to protect me from them.

I literally couldn’t stand, I collapsed there and then crying my eyes out. I’m so sick of this place, the royal thrown is breaking my family apart, we should be one strong unit standing up to protect our people from danger not fighting over a stupid title and chair.

Entry 6

Holy shit I’m so dead, SO FUCKING DEAD. I need to get out soon as I can, I can’t believe what I have done. I didn’t mean for him to die, I just

Ok, everything isn’t as bad as I thought but I’m still dead and I’m so fucking done with this place. I was caught in the kitchen today by my guard, apparently the last one needed a break due to stomach injuries and a new one was assigned. Apparently, I still need to be on watch 24/7. So, the chemicals in the drink didn’t work with this new guy and he saw I was gone from my room, he searched the whole castle and found me in the kitchen.

I didn’t mean to do what I did but he grabbed me, obviously he was new and didn’t listen to the rule not to touch the royal family members unless approved by the king. With the last guard I never resisted to be dragged away but this guy grabbed me out of nowhere.

So, it turns out I froze the guy (very poorly) and out of shock, knocked him unconscious. I thought I killed him, but luckily, he is fine now. I’m still in deep shit and I’ve been banished to my room for a month. Not even joking when I say a group of men come running in to pin me down and took me to my room, now mum and dad want a word with me. I better just cut of my head and ending myself.

Entry 7

Right, that is the last fucking straw, I’m leaving tonight, and no one is going to stop me. Literally so fucking mad right now. So apparently everything I do in this place is all my fault, I’m miserable because I’m going to be the next king, my little sister Ember is sad because of my safety, the guards are annoyed because they have to watch me, my brothers and sisters want to kill me for the throne and now Julia, YES FUCKING JULIA WHO HAS WORKED HERE SINCE SHE WAS A TEEN IS NOW BANISHED FROM THE CASTLE.

Apparently, she tainted my mind with all this magic talk and she needs to be kept away from me if I am to be a pure ruler of this kingdom. Pure fucking what, boring arse king who doesn’t know how to have fun and just sits on his arse, it’s a load of shit.

Julia is more of a friend, hell, more of a mother than my own mum ever was. Sit up straight, smile and wave, NO. She taught me there was more to life than living inside these walls. I’m leaving tonight, and I’m going to find Julia and get out of this place even if it kills me.

Entry 8

Holy mother of hell, I can’t believe I’ve done what I did, and no one ever even noticed I was gone. I think I’m the only member of this family to ever step foot out of these grounds. The town isn’t as glamorous as I thought given the amount of money this place has stored away but at least it’s nice to feel a strong breeze on my face and look at the water up close.

Leaving my room was easy but scary, I got a bag full of some food and a few clothes that should last till I find Julia. I used what cloth and objects I had to jump out the window late at night and made sure to barricade the door in case anyone tries to bust in while I leave.

Not going to lie I feel very vulnerable out hear late at night, but I should be fine, I think. If I die at least this book will be protected and tell my story of how terrible my family really is. Wish me luck.

Entry 9

After hours of searching I managed to find Julia’s house, knocking door to door using the description from the story’s she has told me over the years. it’s a lot smaller than I imagined but it’s nice and cosy, my room is a lot bigger than this place but how can I blame her with money she gets.

She was very shocked to see me out of the castle, but proud that I managed to find my way here on my own, she took me in, gave me food, a bath and set up a bed for me on the sofa, it’s not royalty treatment but I feel warm and fuzzy, the same feeling I discovered in the photo I fixed.

She sat next to me on the couch with a large book filled with writing, drawings and pictures of my family that have been passed down her generation. I was in awe of the collection, my own family has never talked about our family tree before and It made me feel proud of what they had achieved in the past, but disappointed of what it has become.

I was curious to why she had this, but she showed me in the back of all the photos was her husband’s family tree, each court wizard was members of her husband’s family. in the photos of my grandparents was her husband’s alive, happy and well. I have always enjoyed the heroic tales she told me about him, but she never mentioned he fought with my grandfather.

I was amazed but sad at the same time, I can’t believe that my family was capable of so many things but now they decide to hide out in the castle forever. Julia brought over a warm drink and told me the whole story.

It was long and tough for us both to talk the subject but to my surprise my whole family were trained in magic to win wars and protect the people of this country, apparently my grandfather also had a brother, he was jealous of his title which was a theme I knew too well. He told my grandfather there was an army approaching from the north, but the general wanted to write a peace-treaty to stop the war, this was true however the brother had redirected him to the wrong place and took him down using magic of the dark arts, luckily Julia’s husbands was by his side to take him down and carried him to the castle, Under his dying breath he signed the piece-treaty to bring peace but was never able to see it happen.

My grandmother decided on the day of his funeral that all magic is to be banned and only those with permission written by the royal family is allowed to practice it, magic used in this country will result in a high penalty if a contract agreement is not provided.

I honestly don’t know how to feel about this story, I almost feel forgiveness for my parents as they were only trying to protect everyone, but I still feel hatred for the way they push me and how my brothers and sisters (Not Ember) treats me. especially Julia, after everything she has been through and done for our family. I need to rest and think about what I need to do.

Entry 10

I have decided that I will go through with my plan and run away from home as far as I can so that my family has less of a chance of finding me, just as sweet as ever Julia had pack me a few large bags full of supplies for my trip and suggested that I should “go where the wind takes me” and handed me a set of keys. They looked familiar than I realised that it was the key to the royal dock where my grandfather’s boat was kept.

I was shocked to how she got them but remember who her husbands was, she was saving it to go somewhere herself one day since her duties are no longer needed but decided to give it to me as I was young and full of adventure. I couldn’t help but cry when she hugged me, she looked me dead in the eye and said, “I couldn’t have wished for a better son”. Those words will forever be close to my heart as long as I live.

Entry 11

Well I’m on my grandfather’s ship, it’s not as big as I thought, yet again I’m over thinking thing, but can you blame me, I thought it would be a war ship or something but luckily its small enough for me to manage on my own without a crew.

I’ve been on here, I think, maybe 2 or 3 days, I’m not too sure to be honest as everything seems to pass slowly on this ship. Everyone at home must have found out I’m gone by now and probably have sent out a search party to find me.

It’s going to be tough but hopefully they don’t track me down to the new location where ever that will be, I don’t know what else to talk about as it’s been really calm, I guess nothing much happens at sea.

I have seen a few birds, some fish, small empty islands and umm oh yeah, I think I saw something huge in the sea, it had a very large eye, lots of long rope thing, it practically flew past the ship rocking it to hell, honestly thought I was going to die but it didn’t seem that interesting in what I was doing.

Hope I reach land soon as I think my sanity is broken after seeing something like this, there is no way that thing was real.

Entry 12

Well shit, no way of going home now. I managed to sail the boat but didn’t know how to stop it. I saw the land coming up fast and I couldn’t turn the ship fast enough to avoid it. Now there is a great big hole and it now lives in the rocks, nice one Diran.

Entry 13

I’ve been walking for days now I feel so sick and tired, I just want to lay down on a soft bed. All I have seen here so far is a few furry creatures and a group of nudists campaign out in the woods, yes, I’m not even joking, no clothes at all. They told me they are free and happy with Mother Nature, they told me that I should take off my clothes and join them, Jesus I’m not an animal.

Although I felt highly uncomfortable they offered me to sit with them and have something to eat. As I had run out of food I happily joined them and listened to their stories. Well I can confirm they were all crazy, all they did was sing songs about their god told me about how love is everything and that nature will set us free. The food was good, but I didn’t want to taste it twice.

When I was done I stood up and thanked them for everything, they really wanted me to stay, I told them I had to go but asked if they knew where I was. The elf girl in the group told me I was in the kingdom of Anecastre and Dago was 5 miles away. Thank god there is some form of civilisation nearby, I was just about to give up hope.

Entry 14

Dago, not exactly the greatest place to be but its large, from what I heard it’s one of the biggest cities in this country. Not too sure who really runs this place though but it’s for sure that no one recognised me and who I am. I think I need to find some new clothes and ditch the name and title.

Orthos has a nice ring to it and maybe I should get a back story straight maybe...

I am a fisherman that travels over sea to make some coin in neighbouring countries, the fish haven’t been biting as much this year causing the work force to look for some new work as best as they can to make do for the time being.

Entry 15

It’s been a while since I wrote in this book, doing stuff for yourself does take a toll on my energy. Luckily for me I was sitting in an inn a while ago and to be fair it was quite packed and there was only one woman tending to the drinks. I was sitting in the corner looking through books and newspapers to learn what I could of this town and see what I could do to sustain myself in this land.

Music was playing, people were chatting and merrily getting drunk as the night goes on. All of a sudden, I heard a crash and a scream come from the bar. Some large bloke had smacked the poor waitresses arse causing her to drop the drinks, she tried to smack him to defend herself, but he grabbed her by the wrist. The situation was uneasy, I couldn’t stand to watch he get objectified like that.

I stood up feeling nervous, I asked him if he would keep it down and leave her alone as he was making too much notice and I was trying to read. He looked at me and huffed in my face, called me posh and made fun of me for being educated. I said to him just leave the girl alone and he took a swing at me thinking I couldn’t handle it.

I grabbed his wrist and pinned it behind his back making him defenceless, I walked him calmly out of the inn and threw him onto the street. I told him “go home your making a mess of yourself, getting drunk and making fun of women is just weak, come back when you have some balls”

The waitress come running over and just wrapped her arms around me out of nowhere. She thanked me a lot and said he’s been a problem for weeks and she didn’t know how to handle it. Low and behold she gave me a room upstairs and gave me a permanent job to help out at the inn.

Entry 16

It’s been a few months since I left home and too be honest I feel a lot more at ease with myself and a lot calmer now that I have the freedom to do what I like. To be honest, I don’t really know how to do a lot of basic tasks for myself but luckily Hedge the waitress has taught me a few thinks like how to cook a nice stew, clean properly and even how to remove blood stains from my clothes when things get rough at the bar.

I could be wrong but, I think Hedge might be interested in me, she’s a nice girl but she acts really strange around me sometimes, the other day two guys were fighting in the bar over a stupid bet and I had to take them outside so that they don’t disturb the customers, I wasn’t paying attention and one of them socked me in the nose getting blood down my shirt. I lost my cool and knocked the prick out, the other guy took his money and thanked me, He shook my hand giving me one gold piece and left, At least it was settled.

I went back to the bar in the inn and took off my shirt to cover my nose. She asked if it was settled and when she turned to me she blushed and walked off. Um, I’m sorry, bleeding and in pain, your woman emotions can wait. Luckily, she didn’t leave it completely as she did return later with some hot water and some towels to help me clean up, but she still looked shaken up.

Entry 17

It was a usual peaceful week day at the inn with a few stragglers walking in but there was this cat sitting in the corner of the room. I’ve seen all types of people walk into this place, but a cat is definitely something we don’t see often in this part of town. I casually got on with my work helping Hedge with the drinks, cleaning tables and throwing out the drunks. Some large brute come waltzing in asked me out for a fight. I was stunned and didn’t know what to say, I said to him sorry what and he looked down at me with a serious look on his face, “you heard come out and fight me”. Day was slow, and I was bored so I thought fuck it why not, I asked what’s in it for me and he just said, “you’ll find out if you can beat me”.

He pulled out he sword and told me to draw my weapons but unfortunately, I didn’t have any, next thing I know he’s taking off his gear, dropping it in the street. “Fist fight it is then”, again I was stunned and had no idea what was happening but at least he was playing fair. Both of us were standing in the middle of the street brawling it out, both of us fairly hurt. “Come on man I’ve seen what you can do, punch harder you wimp”, he stares me out, dead in the eye, no emotion. I really don’t want to get into this as I’m trying to lay low as best as I can and using all the skills I learn in combat training to defend myself (the only decent thing I learnt at home) is way too much that I might get me noticed.

I just took a deep breath and improved my stance, he looked at me and smiled “wasn’t so hard, now, try again”. We run at each other and I front flip over him, I kicked his knees knocking him down, he grabbed my arm when I went for his head, He throws me over to the ground and tries to stomp on me, I roll under in the nick of time to run up the wall to kick him in the head, I knocked him down and quickly manoeuvre into a headlock. He laughed and said “nice one” tapping my arm to release him, he stands to brushing of the dirt and gather his gear.

Yep, you have proven your worth. I was knackered as I never really needed to fight like that for a while. I asked him if he could tell me what the hell is going on and this cat person puts their hand on my shoulder and asks me to come with them. Ok fine, I got this far might as well see where it takes me. We walked into a merchant and they all showed their hands to each other which was weird as hell, then the shop floor we were standing on shifted forward revealing a ladder going into a dark tunnel.

At this point I fear for my life, i thought I was being dragged into some cult to be sacrificed to the gods. We climb down this ladder and it’s a large empty hall with a strange symbol in the middle, there are a small amount of people wandering around with hoods totally made me feel at home and the guys who brought me here look dead at me.

“We believe you have what it takes to fight, and we have watched you protect the person you love”, yes, they actually think I’m in love with hedge. “Will you join us brother and fight with those looking for a stronger purpose in life, to live free and protect those around you”. Honestly, I needed to sit down for a few minutes to think about this.

After all the things I have been through, being casted out by my family and forced into a title I never asked for, these strangers were asking me to join their group because they believe I have the right skills. As far as I know they don’t have a clue about my past, so underground I am less likely to get spotted, it was perfect, how could I ever pass this off.

I was ready to participate, they both grabbed my hand lighting up the seal on the floor, they cut it causing blood to hit the floor, the same symbol appeared on my hand. “Welcome to the ebony brotherhood” everyone took there hoods off and threw me a party, how odd but delightful people.

Entry 18

I honestly have no idea what’s happening with my life anymore, at home I’m casted out but here in Dago I have been welcomed so warmly I never want to leave. This here is home, of course I miss my little sister Ember and Julia. one day when I’m ready I promise to return to claim the throne and change our country for the better.

For now, I’m mostly needed here in dago to protect my new family and help those in need even if it means to bake the law. Every now and then I return from a tough mission with the brotherhood and I pop by to see Hedge to see how she is doing, she tells me the place hasn’t changed since I left but she feels lonely running the place on her own again.

Feeling bad I left her on her own, unintentionally, I put in a request with samara if we could bring her down to the guild. Gladly she was happy to let hedge in to liven the place up. As a replacement they sent a few members to take over running the inn, as a bonus It brings intel to the brotherhood helping our trading network and gathering intel on movement in the city.

Loving the idea samara let me sit at the leaders table in the middle today to share more ideas on how to improve the brotherhood, as she liked the way I worked she said that “my skills have improved immaculately” and had decided to set me up as second rank officer and give me a small team to run more tactical operations instead of sticking with petty thievery to bring in more income.

Entry 19

[year later after last entry, in between mostly stories of different tasks and missions he has run]

Lately all the hard work and effort is starting to pay off, we have now managed to dig out some more rooms underground making space for new people and to make this place more home like, we now have more lights so we no longer need candles with us all the time so we don’t trip and fall, we now have shops set up in the hall to build up supply runs and make sure very one gets what they need.

Gulrik has set up a few new shops around town to increase trade and Samara has found an old Tortle up by Hadrun in a burnt down village, no idea what happened to that place but luckily, she found him when she did otherwise he probably wouldn’t have lasted that long out there. Must be horrible living alone without anyone to talk too, he seems like an all-right guy, very large and his face creeps me out a bit.

Samara talks about him a lot and how they are like best friend, brag much, she says they don’t know much about each other, but they work great together. I don’t really trust a guy who won’t say much about their past but who am I to blame.

Entry 20

Some random hooded guy appeared in our brotherhood today, completely out of nowhere, Gulrik didn’t even let him in. He just stood there until Samara entered the room. Pointed at her and said, “you are the leader yes?”, we were all literally on red alert with our weapons and magic ready.

Samara nodded scared of what was going to happen, the thing just sat our table and demanded all the leader sit. It said “I’m looking for an item that must be returned to me soon as possible” I asked what is it, “you will know when you see it” he waved his hands across the table revealing a very large pile of gold “all this will be your plus more if you retrieve it” I picked up a coin and used the identify spell and this whole pile was a fake so there was no chance of taking this even if we wanted too. The hooded figure disappears after we accepted, Samara grabbed a handful of coins and yelled were going to be rich. I told her to old your horses they are fake, as usual she said, “even so, we will get the good stuff soon”.

The pile vanished and she jumped up onto the table “Brothers and sisters of Ebony, we as a family will walk these grounds together and hunt down this very item, together we shall live comfortably as one”. The room cheers getting hyped up for the upcoming mission. I grabbed Samara’s arm and told her to chill out, we don’t know who that guy was, what he wanted or even want he wants to do with it. Take this slowly ok we need to think carefully about this as we don’t want to KILL any of our brethren, and I certainly don’t want that on my shoulders.

Samara didn’t look happy with me but just gave in, “fine you run the place while I’m gone” she stood up once again and announced I was now taking charge until she returns. Samara please be careful, at least take someone with you like Urix, Urix was stuffing his face with food so I had to shout because the food was clogging his ears, OI! He stopped mid scoff and said “what” muffled.

Absolute filthy creature, I ordered him to go with Samara and he planted his fist on the table and said “NO! I got some new recruits to train and I got that scum bag Gulrik up my arse for gold because I lost a bet” oh for fuck sake get your arse together and do your job, he just looked at me and said “I am, got to eat for strength” I grabbed her hand and said Samara your quick but if something is faster than you please get out and come home, she looked at me and smiled “nah its fine I’ll take Warith with me” and happily walked out, cats have nine lives but she has already used eight of them.

I know I wanted a care free life to do what I wish, but sometimes these people take the piss and I work with farm animals, I’m so done I need a lie down.

Entry 21

Samara has been gone for a while and I’ve been stricter around the brotherhood maintaining order looking for this lost item, so far, I have sent search parties to the north and east side of the country and nothing seems to be of interest. All magical and odd items have been sealed temporarily in the vault unless it has been identified by me and turns up to be a common item. No luck so far but this has turned up a lot of profit.

The latest team I sent to the south has reported back that there are some strange feelings coming out of Shadowfell Keep where sir Keegon layer to rest, one group have also spotted large packs of Kolbults running amuck in the area. In the future, recons groups will be sent out as a higher trained team and we would need to dip into our funds to equip them with more advanced recon gear before we can send them out again.

Entry 22

HOLY SHIT I CAN’T HANGLE THIS MUCH CHAOTIC BEHAVIOUR IN ONE DAY, we first lose a recon team in the south and Samara’s seal has been broken setting of an alarm in the seal of Ebony, I must get my equipment together and grab a team to confirm the loss and retrieve the body.

I told her she was going to get killed and now there are talks of demons of Orcus running around in the south. If she had done her checks beforehand none of this would happen.

Entry 23

The team is all together and everything about this trip feels wrong, I know samara can get into a lot of trouble but even this seems out of the ordinary. No clue what happened in shadowfell keep but it can’t be good if she is gone and the cobalt’s are acting up, I mean come on they are a bunch of wack jobs but for them to act as an organised fighting group must mean someone had been training them.

It’s taking a long time to travel to our destination and I’m so bored and tired of all the crap happening in the guild and now this, I just feel like I want to go home at this point but I really don’t want to face my parents after everything that happened. Maybe its time we have a change of pace in the brotherhood and turn to do something better, possibly, even though it might sound crazy we could combine forces with the Red Hood Guild and make some money with a more rewarding purpose.

Not to mention what happened last time in the faywild, I never really talked about it or even wrote about it, looking back through my book. I mean it should have been an easy job, get a wizard to send us to the faywild collect the client’s magical item and then come home again. It’s still kinda hazy to me but I can still remember glimpses of what happened, my brothers and sisters of the brotherhood who went with me can’t even look at me in the eyes after what I had done.

It took a whole week to get what we were looking for, but those tiny insignificant little shits just kept getting in our way, they just though it was funny to trip me up, tangle me in a vine and humiliate me in front of my people. IM A PRINCE AND A LEADER OF THE BROTHERHOOD FOR CRYING OUT LOUD. I shouldn’t’ve been treated like that, I wouldn’t even treat my enemies with such disrespect.

Me and Gulrik used to spend hours coming up with new ways to prank new adventurers who would walk into the city, they were cleaver and well thought out. They were so good, hell, even the towns guards would laugh and turn a blind eye to the stuff we did but I’m pretty sure we didn’t humiliate people like these little fucks did.

I tried so hard to use what Gulrik had taught me, but nothing worked, they were always two steps ahead of me. I must have lost it at that point because my mind is still blank, the guys who went with me had me tied up with the vines hanging from the trees and I was in a fit of laughter. I remember coming too and all I saw was blood, the place was really quiet. Did I feel bad for what I had done, a tiny part of me says yes but a much larger part of me calls it the perfect revenge.

I don’t know what it was about that place but every time I think about it or see something that resembles a fairy I just want to laugh and pull their tiny wings off. Maybe if I try to avoid those creatures maybe it won’t happen again.

bottom of page